You are here:

  • Home.

Welcome to the Center for Cardiovascular Research (CCR)

The Center for Cardiovascular Research (CCR) is an institution specialized in cardiovascular research at the CharitéUniversitätsmedizin Berlin. It is mainly located at Campus Charité Mitte. It was founded as an experimental research center of the Charité. Two cardiology clinics, the Nephrology Clinic, the Endocrinology Clinic, the Institute of Pharmacology and the Institute of Gender in Medicine (GiM) are working together in an interdisciplinary manner.

 

With this Center, the Faculty promotes cardiovascular and metabolic research at the Charité. It provides excellent conditions for cooperative research in the areas of heart failure and myocardial hypertrophy, vascular disorders, diabetes mellitus and obesity. Further research focuses on gender-specific differences in cardiovascular disease as well as in molecular pharmacology. The CCR combines cardiology, numerous medical specialties, including nephrology, endocrinology and pharmacology. Scientists in 15 research groups are investigating the causes of particularly frequent cardiac and circulatory diseases. In parallel, they are developing innovative therapeutic possibilities.

 

The CCR comprises also an animal facility area which is supported by the experimental research facilities (FEM) for experimental breeding. The CCR animal facility is equipped with several units for metabolic and cardiovascular phenotyping of small animals. Among other things, a preclinical echocardiography device, metabolic cages and implantable telemetry transponders are available.

 

The CCR works in close collaboration with the German Center for Cardiovascular Research (DZHK). Membership in the DZHK also confirms the high quality of cardiovascular research. At the DZHK, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research is funding 28 institutions at 7 locations in Germany, which were selected in a competitive process. In the DZHK, patient-oriented interdisciplinary research is carried out in networks of leading scientists.

Sie befinden sich hier:

  • Startseite.

Center for Cardiovascular Research (CCR) in Berlin – kooperative Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung für innovative Therapien

Das Center for Cardiovascular Research (CCR) ist eine auf Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung spezialisierte Einrichtung der CharitéUniversitätsmedizin Berlin und befindet sich am Campus Charité Mitte. Es wurde als experimentelles Forschungszentrum der Charité gegründet. Zwei kardiologische Kliniken, die Klinik für Nephrologie, die Klinik für Endokrinologie, das Institut für Pharmakologie und das Institut für Geschlechterforschung in der Medizin (GiM) arbeiten hier interdisziplinär zusammen.

Mit dem Zentrum fördert die Fakultät die kardiovaskuläre und metabolische Forschung an der Charité. Es schafft exzellente Voraussetzungen für kooperative Forschung auf den Gebieten Herzinsuffizienz und Myokardhypertrophie, myokardialer vaskulärer Störungen, Diabetes mellitus und Adipositas. Weitere Forschungen gelten geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschieden bei kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen sowie der molekularen Pharmakologie. Im CCR verbinden sich Kardiologie, zahlreiche internistische Fachgebiete, darunter die Nephrologie, die Endokrinologie und die Pharmakologie. Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen in 15 Arbeitsgruppen forschen an den Ursachen besonders häufiger Herz- und Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Gleichzeitig entwickeln sie innovative Therapiemöglichkeiten.

Eingebettet ist auch ein Tierhaltungsbereich, der von den Forschungseinrichtungen für experimentelle Medizin (FEM) bezüglich Versuchstierzucht und -haltung unterstützt wird. Die Tierhaltung ist ausgestattet mit mehreren Einheiten zur metabolischen und kardiovaskulären Phänotypisierung von Kleintieren. Unter anderem stehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ein Kleintierechokardiografiegerät, metabolische Käfige und implantierbare Telemetrietransponder für ihre Forschung zur Verfügung.

Das CCR arbeitet eng mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK) zusammen. Durch die Mitgliedschaft im DZHK wird auch die hohe Qualität der kardiovaskulären Forschung bestätigt: Im DZHK fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft 28 Institutionen an 7 Standorten in Deutschland, die in einem kompetitiven Verfahren ausgewählt wurden. Im DZHK wird patientenorientierte interdisziplinäre Forschung in Netzwerken führender Wissenschaftler durchgeführt.